In Ottawa

Seit dem Beginn ihrer Arbeit in den 1990er Jahren hat die Cité für Friedenskulturen mit dem kanadischen Ministerium für Multikulturalismus und Fakultätsmitgliedern der Universität Ottawa, der grössten zweisprachigen Universität der Welt, bei Projekten zusammengearbeitet, die sich mit Kernproblemen politischer, sozialer und kultureller Art in zeitgenössischen pluralistischen Gesellschaften befassen; so zum Beispiel der Integration bzw. Exklusion ethnischer und religiöser Minderheiten, Gewalt gegen Frauen und Kinder, Gewalt in Familien sowie Theorien der Multikulturalität und ihre politische Umsetzung.

Für diese Zusammenarbeit gibt es bestimmte Gründe. Unter ihrem Premierminister Pierre Elliott Trudeau setzte in den siebziger und achtziger Jahren die kanadische Regierung die Bejahung kultureller, ethnischer und religiöser Diversität als politisches Ziel. 1973 wurde das Ministerium für Multikulturalität eingerichtet, 1988 wurde das kanadische Multikulturalitäts-Gesetz verabschiedet. Die Abteilung für das nationale Erbe Kanadas das mit der Durchführung und der weiteren Entwicklung dieser Politik beauftragt ist, hat zahlreiche Programme und Projekte zu diesen Themen gefördert, darunter die Teilnahme kanadischer Wissenschaftler an der internationalen Konferenz, die von der Cité für Friedenskulturen in Paris und Buenos Aires veranstaltet wurden, sowie die Teilnahme von Mitgliedern der City aus mehreren Ländern an Forschungsprojekten in Kanada. Die Cité hat an der Universität Ottawa eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit mit der innovativen und international anerkannten Forschung angebahnt, die von Patrick Imbert, Vizepräsident der Cité und Inhaber eines Forschungslehrstuhls an der Universität Ottawa ins Leben gerufen und geleitet wird: »Kanada: Enjeux sociaux et culturels dans une société du savoir«, ein Projekt, das die sozialen und kulturellen Probleme in Kanadas Wissensgesellschaft ebenso untersucht wie verschiedene Modelle von Multikulturalität, ihre Auswirkungen und Folgen in der westlichen Hemisphäre. Weitere Informationen über diese Forschungsgruppe unter: www.canada.uottawa.ca

The University of Ottawa / l'Université d'Ottawa

Ottawa

______________________________

Rechte: 1. Photo des Tabaret-Gebäudes (Tabaret Hall with the Desmarais Building in the background, on the University of Ottawa campus) © RobCA, 2008, vgl.: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_of_Ottawa; 2. Panorama-Bild von Ottawa © G. Baranski, 2009, vgl: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Canada_Ottawa_Panorama.jpg

In Ottawa

Since the start of its activities in the mid-1990s, the City for the Cultures of Peace has cooperated with the Canadian Ministry of Multiculturalism and faculty members at the University of Ottawa, the largest bilingual university in the world, on projects addressing key political, social, and cultural issues in contemporary plural societies, such as the integration versus exclusion of ethnic and religious minorities, the abuse of women and children, domestic violence, as well as theories of multiculturalism and their implementation via policies.

There are special reasons for this collaboration: Under the prime ministry of Pierre Elliott Trudeau in the 1970s and 1980s, the Canadian government introduced the acceptance of cultural, ethnic, and religious diversity as an official policy. In 1973, it established the Ministry of Multiculturalism, and in 1988 it passed the Canadian Multiculturalism Act. The Department of Canadian Heritage, in charge of administrating the implementation and further development of multicultural policies, has sponsored numerous programs and projects on these key issues, including the participation of Canadian scholars in the international conferences organized by the City for the Cultures of Peace (i.e. in Paris and Buenos Aires) and that of CCP-members from different countries in research programs organized in Canada. At the University of Ottawa, the City for the Cultures of Peace has established a long-term cooperation with the innovative and internationally acknowledged research unit conceptualized and directed by Patrick Imbert, Vice-President of the City for the Cultures of Peace and Ottawa University Research Chair Holder: Canada, “Enjeux sociaux et culturels dans une société du savoir,” which examines the social and cultural challenges in Canada’s knowledge society as well as different models of multiculturalism, their implications and consequences in the Americas. For more information about this research unit, visit its web site at: www.canada.uottawa.ca

The University of Ottawa / l'Université d'Ottawa

Ottawa

______________________________

Copy right: 1. Photo of Tabaret Hall with the Desmarais Building in the background, on the University of Ottawa campus © RobCA, 2008, see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_of_Ottawa; 2. Panorama picture of Ottawa © G. Baranski, 2009, see: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Canada_Ottawa_Panorama.jpg