À Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, la « ville des ponts », située au confluent de deux rivières – Allegheny et Monongahela – formant la rivière Ohio, ne possède pas que 446 ponts d’acier et de pierres, mais également de nombreux ponts culturels qui assurent la stabilité et la paix entre les différentes nationalités de ce biotope urbain multiculturel qui était autrefois la « capitale mondiale de l’acier ».

Depuis le début de ses activités à l’échelle mondiale dans le milieu des années 1990, la Cité des Cultures de la Paix a collaboré à maintes reprises avec l’University of Pittsburgh, son University Center for International Relations, en particulier le Center for Western European Studies/EU Center of Excellence, le Russian and Eastern European Center, le Cultural Studies Program, de même qu’avec plusieurs départements de la Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences. Les activités à l’University of Pittsburgh comprenait des conférences, des séminaires et des récitals de musique qui se déroulaient souvent dans les Nationality Rooms de la Cathedral of Learning, une cathédrale néo-gothique de 42 étages qui est un point de repère dans la ville et le bâtiment central sur le campus de cette université. Parmi les activités qui ont eu lieu à l’étranger, en France, en Allemagne et Argentine, il y a eu des conférences internationales ainsi que des Forums pour les cultures de la paix. Certains des participants à ces événements étaient à la fois membres d’honneur de la Cité des Cultures de Paix et membres du corps professoral de l’University of Pittsburgh. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les activités en collaboration avec l’University of Pittsburgh, voir : Chronologie et Faits saillants à Pittsburgh.

Présentement, la Cité des Cultures de Paix collabore également avec le Sehgal Fund in Memory of Dr. Kuldeep Sehgal de la Pittsburgh Foundation (USA) sur un projet pour les enfants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage.

____________________________________

Rights: Photo: PittSkyline082904.jpg de Fran Rogers © Fran Rogers (CC-BY-2.5).

In Pittsburgh

In Pittsburgh, the “City of Bridges,” located at the confluence of two rivers–Allegheny and Monongahela–forming the Ohio river, there are not only 446 steel and stone bridges, but also numerous cultural bridges, safeguarding the stability and peace between the different nationalities in this multicultural urban biotope which was once the “steel capital of the world.”

Since the start of world-wide activities in the mid-1990s, the City for the Cultures of Peace has cooperated time and again with the University of Pittsburgh, its University Center for International Relations, in particular the Center for Western European Studies/EU Center of Excellence, the Russian and Eastern European Center, the Cultural Studies Program, as well as several Departments in the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences. Activities at the University of Pittsburgh included lectures, seminars, and musical recitals often held in the unique Nationality Rooms of the Cathedral of Learning, a 42-story neo-gothic cathedral which is a landmark and the central building on the campus of this university. Among the activities which took place abroad, i.e. in France, Germany, and Argentina, were international conferences and Forums for the Cultures of Peace. Some of the participants in these events were both Honorary Members of the City for the Cultures of Peace and faculty members at the University of Pittsburgh. For more information activities in cooperation with the University of Pittsburgh, see: Chronology and Highlights in Pittsburgh.

Currently, the Sehgal Fund in Memory of Dr. Kuldeep Sehgal of the Pittsburgh Foundation (USA) establishes a new program for children with learning disabilities in cooperation with the City for the Cultures of Peace.

____________________________________

Rights: Photo: PittSkyline082904.jpg by Fran Rogers © Fran Rogers (CC-BY-2.5).